Of 20 bucks down the drain

Went to a handphone fair at Jaya 1 recently cause a colleague of mine was looking to buy a new smartphone.

As it turned out, most of the phones on sale there were either fake models (Iphone -> “Phone”, without the “I”), older models (black and white punya generation) or just plain kooky (Hello Kitty phone zomg).

But all was not wasted, cause I ended up buying a thumbdrive and laptop sticker at a bargain – albeit unbeknownst to the seller.

The displayed price of the thumbdrive was RM28 and the sticker cost RM25.

Me: Oh, both for RM50 can?
Seller: CANNOT LAH! So cheap already where can discount samo.
Me: Haiyo can lar, cheaper a bit only ma.
Seller: *Ponders. OK lah the thumbdrive cannot give cheaper, but the sticker I give you for RM20.

Uh.
That’s like RM48 only dude, you just threw away 2 bucks lol.

Somebody need to go for maths classes edi.

Anyway, the gang was supposed to gather on the night of the Mooncake Festival so I brought along my laptop and the sticker, in search of free labourers to help me stick it on.

And it turned out to be a total disaster.

The guys actually spent one whole hour laughing and telling me how ugly it looks argh!

Uh. I think Soon Seng didn’t notice he was holding it upside down.
2

According to the instructions, I was supposed to cut the sticker according to the size of the laptop, and we all know that’s just a recipe for disaster.

The first thing I did was to cut out the silicone keyboard protector. But it turned out looking like shit cause it doesn’t really stick to the keys or anything. It’s just lying there like that damn ugly ok!!!

Apparently it only sticks to the keys which I use very often, i.e. has a lot of oil on it boo.

And then I failed to notice that the bottom 3 keys on the right were popping out so I had to “extend” the thing so now it looks double ugly.
1

In desperation, I threw the whole thing to the 3 engineers to settle. They seemed pretty keen at first, discussing and planning in advance – something I totally failed to do. At one point they even took out a piece of paper to sketch the blueprints of the laptop lol.

4

OMG Jae Shen is holding it upside down too!! What is it with guys and hearts???
3

But then I started being bossy so all of them letak jawatan =(

HOI! I thought kuli weren’t allowed to quit! Ish.

So I came home and tried doing it myself.

And yeah, it looks like triple shits now.

6

7

8

Waste my 20 bucks only.

I hate DIY stuff.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. soon seng
    Oct 04, 2009 @ 18:03:23

    i never said it was ugly! Just that i think the silicone pad might fall off.
    Can i try pasting the remainder, one day? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Yun
    Oct 04, 2009 @ 18:04:38

    so ugly le….throw it away onli le…eekkek

    Reply

  3. barbiesoo
    Oct 04, 2009 @ 23:50:16

    soonseng u dont have to literally say it for me to know it. u spent an hour laughing at it remember?

    and no i am not throwing my 20 bucks away.

    Reply

  4. soon seng
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 23:51:34

    haha.. i wasn’t laughing cos it was ugly ler.. as lauren would put it, it was just ‘being happy with you’.. =)

    neways, my apologies if i had inadvertently caused any ill feelings or desires to punch me…i’ll make it up by trying to paste the remainder

    Reply

  5. barbiesoo
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 18:20:16

    no lor i think u were being happy AT me cause i wasn’t happy so u couldnt have been happ WITH me rite.

    nope a punch is still in order.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

