TO ARTHUR!!!!!

When Mr Soon Seng messaged me to offer me a free ticket to the Arthur’s Day celebration, I was happy of course, but not too excited cause I didn’t know what the heck it was about.

According to today’s The Star, it was one of only 5 bashes held around the world (the most chunted one was held in Dublin, of course, where Guinness was born) (OMG spell check has “Guinness”!! I misspelt it as “Guiness” and the red dotted line appeared!) to celebrate the 250th anniversary of Guinness beer.

I am definitely not a beer drinker, and neither am I a good speller, cause I though it was spelt “Aurthur” instead of “Arthur” lol.

But anyhuu, people give free ticket, go only lar rite.

Samo the Black Eyed Peas would be performing mar. I always like seeing famous people 😉

Much to my delight, we ended up with more than enough tickets (thanks to some people who kept digging up free tickets), so Shun and Yen went as well =)

The bash was supposed to start at 8pm, but knowing Malaysian timing, it obviously didn’t.

Not that I can attest to it starting late, cause we were dead late as well – Yen only came back from work at like 7.45pm sial so by the time we were there it was about 9pm already. No worries. Opening acts don’t matter =p

First stop was the toilet, where Yen did some light exercises to warm up, followed by drawing lines around her eyes and ending with a spot of camwhoring.

Sakai. Luckily the toilet was devoid of anyone other than us.
1

She tak puas cause my eyeliner was thicker than hers -_-
2

WAHHH Yen has big eyes! wtf
3

Actually hor, right before we left home, Shun told me to remind Yen that the dress-code was “black chic” and to make sure that she didn’t end up wearing gym or pasar clothes. And I was like, haiya she not so aunty kua. Well, waddaya know. Sometimes I think she does it just to piss us off.

I know I wasn’t in black either, but I already bought my top for this event before I found out about the dress-code.
4

Found the guys waiting for us at the entrance to Sunway Lagoon. Apparently we were so late, everyone else had gone in except for Soon Seng, Kenny and Hanyangsaeyo. Aww shucks.

Yen asked whether Arthur was still alive. At his 250th anniversary. Retard.
5

The walk to the surf beach was quite a long one, with us having to take several flights of moving stairs (yes I know they’re called escalators, but “stairs” sounds more cham) and I ended up spraining a few of my toes from all that walking omg.

Flooded with people.
6

The sisterhood.
7

There was soooooooooo many frigging people that the crowd spilled over from the surf beach area into every other area that was accessible to us, up til the wall that divides the dry park from the wet park.

Stage flanked by jumbo screens.
8

The hotel looking rather majestic in the background.
9

The area nearest to the stage was already air-tight by the time we arrived, and as skinny as we all were *ahem* we couldn’t find any standing room for us. So we forlornly moved away from the crowd towards the back to find somewhere to sit.

Soon Seng, Yen, Shun and Kenny. Hanyangsaeyo ditched us to go looking for the others.
10

The aunty even brought her own water along.
11

Taking a breather after all that pushing and shoving.
12

“OMG Li Ping was right, really got tiles wan leh!!!” (K lar you were right about there being sand too)
13

Since Yen was already wearing a bikini top, we told her to jump into the puddle, and she almost did! Heh.
14

Yen: Photo can’t see shit lar.
Me: Yameh? I see 2 big shits wor.
Hah hah hah.

15

Wondered around some more, in search of Sue Ann and Kiat and waddaya know, we found them in a most strategic spot that was really quite near to the stage.

Super wonderful.

Really quite near to the stage leh!
16

Camwhored while waiting for BEP to appear.
17

How aunties answer phone calls at concerts. Too bad Shun couldn’t muster up some farts lol.
18

It was quite a long wait for all the other acts to be over and done with and for BEP to perform. By the time they finally appeared, it was already 10.30pm which is like 15 minutes away from my bedtime *yawns.

But of course it was totally worth the wait!

From the minute they stepped foot onstage, the crowd went berserk and you could smell the adrenaline (it kinda smells like sweat) in the air.

Sadly, I couldn’t get a clear photo of them, thanks to this total IDIOT who stood in front of me who kept jiggling his fat ass and bumping into me every 3 seconds so all my photos were blurry. Super angry.

This is the best I could do =(((
19

When the rest noticed I was getting trampled on by the idiot, they moved me to the front. So I got a good look at him and he got some dirty stares from me.
20

Spot 5 funny faces and one idiot.
21

Much to my despair, this group of tall African dudes pushed their way in front of us as well.

Shit. I hate not being tall.

It was bad enough that more and more of them started popping up in my face, at one point, one of them even decided to mount his buddy’s shoulders, so all I could see was black backside. Sigh.

Magecheebai not tall enough izzit??!!!?
25

Anyhuu, the BEP gave a fantastic performance and the crowd was super hyped-up all throughout the night. There were all kinds of people: Blacks, whites, French, Arabs, Malays, Chinese, Indians etc. And when the BEP sang “Where is the love”, everyone just melted into this peaceful mass of people singing along to BEP.

1 Malaysia, 1 Love.
22

Tattoo and Will.I.Am forming a heart.
23

One love.
24

Sorry lah could only take photos of the screen beside me. The view of the stage was blocked by some black backside.

All too soon it was over, and the crowd was left cheering to confetti floating gently in the air.

Woots! Never knew tiny pieces of paper could make people so happy.
26

Failed pic of us and the stage.
27

Right after the confetti settled, we were treated to a 5 minute fireworks display, typical of all events held at Sunway.

Boom Boom Pow!
28

Heart-shaped fireworks omg so pretty!!!! Too bad it’s senget lol!
29

And typical of all kiasu Malaysians, there was then a mad rush to beat the jam, with everyone cramming at the exit, forming a suffocating body of smelly, sticky, sweaty flesh. Too gross man.

Finally managed to extricate ourselves after much jostling but with no injuries nor fights, thankfully.
30

Jakuning with Hari Raya deco.
31

Went home and collapsed into a deep slumber even before I took a bath or had anything to eat. Really KO lor. But then my eyes started to protest cause I hadn’t removed my contacts, so I woke up at about 4am to clean up and back to bed it was.

Happy day. Thanks for the free ticket Soon Seng =)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nee nee
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 15:21:42

    liping… it’s taboo…not tattoo… ahahah

    Reply

  2. mein mein
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 16:44:05

    nee oso went right?

    Reply

  3. Yenli
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 17:31:34

    hahahaha tattooooo omg.
    i ❤ taboo after last night k. so yeng *swoons*

    Reply

  4. barbiesoo
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 19:34:47

    oh cause he has this tattoo on his arm of the word “tattoo” lol.. confused me.

    Reply

  5. Tomer Guez
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 22:14:40

    > OMG spell check has “Guinness”!!

    BTW, on this topic, there is a good spell check program Spell Check Anywhere (SpellCheckAnywhere.Com). It works in all programs.

    Reply

  6. soon seng
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 00:40:11

    Aww, you’re welcome.=) glad you could make it, and that you had fun!

    Nice pics! i look like i want to jawab soalan there.

    Reply

  7. barbiesoo
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 22:22:17

    u look like u were saying “Oh Li Ping was rite, really got tiles” heh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

