ZOO LI PING

Growing up, I’ve always been fascinated with animals, mostly attributable to my mum’s habit of feeding strays and my brother’s penchant for enslaving lizards by tying strings round their necks.

My first ever pets were what I thought were baby snakes – tiny gunmetal little things, rather like worms except that they weren’t. If my 3 year old memory serves me right, my brother and I found a bunch of eggs and decided to hatch them. And out came the cute little suckers, tiny as can be. I remember my mum scolding us and squishing the poor babies with a newspaper T.T.

Then again, childhood memories tend to turn out exaggerated and sprinkled with fantasy, so in reality they probably weren’t actually anything as exciting as snakes.

After that, I had hamsters (used to breed to sell to the petshop, had 40 of em in the baby-mill at one point!), birds, dogs, cats, lizards, spiders (hatched some eggs and the babies were really cute, but then they died cause they didn’t want to eat the ants I fed them boo), ants, earthworms, a caterpillar that turned into a moth, a rooster that pecked my dog’s nose (so my mum gave it away to my neighbour who probably made roast chicken out of it sigh), fishes, a dainty transparent prawn, tortoises, a long-necked turtle (which my brother didn’t want anymore so he gave it away through a FORUM wtf T.T), ladybugs, a housefly (I trapped it in my hamster’s aquarium, but then the hamster ATE it!)… and goodness knows what else, that’s about as much as I can recall.

[If you’re wondering where the hell I got the eggs from, well, I used to go egg hunting in the store room lol.]

I totally qualify to be a zoo keeper lar wtf.

So anyway, when it comes to animals/bugs/fishes there’s really a lot more to them than what meets the eye.

Right now I have this dog, named Bobo (all my dogs were named Bobo and all my cats Kitty dsh) who’s like really aggressive and barky in nature. The person who designed my house gate actually made it so the bottom half was like super narrow bars thus preventing my dog from popping his head through the gate and biting people! Lol.

But SOMEHOW, my dog just loves cats!!!!!

It’s damn weird ok.

He regularly chills with Kitty and occasionally even lets her bite his tail.

And then a couple of weeks ago this fugly black kitten turned up at my house begging for food.

And my dog decided to adopt it and actually sleeps with the kitten!

The only thing he won’t allow it to do is eat his food lor.

3

5

7

The gentleman in him even allowed Hitam to rule over his beloved (but smelly) chair.

2

Forcing him to perch precariously at the edge of the cushion.

4

And the dumbest part of this story is that my bigass fat Kitty is AFRAID of that tiny little kitten.

Sigh. Need to bring all of them for animal hierarchy counseling already.

1

ROARRRRRRRRRRR!
6

PS: That’s my maid’s bed hor. My bedsheets not so ugly wan.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. soon seng
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 22:26:25

    Dem cute ler, your cat.

    Reply

  2. robin
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 22:49:53

    Ahhh..i love dogs! Your dog so cute!! Funny la u —> animal hierarchy counseling? Haha…And u so bad, saying ur maid’s bedsheet ugly LOL..

    Reply

  3. barbiesoo
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 19:52:22

    ss: she’s my baby =)))

    robin: haha my dog is damn weird ok. now he even lets the cat eat his food.

    Reply

  4. soon seng
    Aug 29, 2009 @ 00:32:32

    The best types of pets are the lazy ones, i guess. They look the cutest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

